Noreen Nethercott & Kathryn Dane make Ulster Squad

Former ERFC ladies Captain Noreen Nethercott, and Under-18 Girls sensation Kathryn Dane have both made the Senior Ulster Ladies squad for the Interpro series opener against Leinster this Saturday 22nd August at Portadown RFC, kicking off at 3pm. Both are included in the 23 woman squad and Kathryn starts the game at scrum-half.

Coaches Philip Doyle and Jarrett Truscott are calling on a mix of youth and experience for their match day squad.

Lesley Megarity will captain the side from hooker and she is joined in the front row by experienced Cooke teammates Ilse van Staden and Nikita Armstrong. Omagh’s Naomi McCullough will make her senior debut in the second row alongside Colette Broome. Another debutant, Niamh Fitzgerald, has been named in the back row with Queen’s University duo Imogen Porter and Lauren Maginnes.

Promising young Enniskillen scrumhalf Kathryn Dane has been included after a string of brilliant performances at Ireland underage level. She is partnered at half back by influential playmaker Jemma Jackson.

Claire McLaughlin and ex-Ireland international Grace Davitt will combine in midfield, while Cooke players make up the entire back three; Eliza Downey, Amy Davis and Teah Maguire.

There is plenty of experience among the replacements. Jamie Love and Amy O’Neill will make their first senior appearances if called upon.

Entry to the game is £3 / €4 entry fee, which is payable at the gate.

ULSTER WOMEN’S TEAM TO PLAY LEINSTER (Saturday 22nd August 2015, Portadown RFC, 3.00pm):
1. Ilse Van Staden (Cooke)
2. Lesley Megarity (Cooke, captain)
3. Nikita Armstrong (Cooke)
4. Colette Broome (Queen’s University)
5. Naomi McCullagh (Omagh)
6. Niamh Fitzgerald (Old Belvedere)
7. Imogen Porter (Queen’s University)
8. Lauren Maginnes (Queen’s University)
9. Kathryn Dane (Enniskillen)
10. Jemma Jackson (Queen’s University)
11. Eliza Downey (Cooke)
12. Claire McLaughlin (Queen’s University)
13. Grace Davitt (Cooke)
14. Amy Davis (Cooke)
15. Teah Maguire (Cooke)

16. Jamie Love (City of Derry)
17. Sorcha Chipperfield (Cooke)
18. Shannon Heapes (City of Derry)
19. Amy O'Neill (Blackrock)
20. Noreen Nethercott (Enniskillen)
21. Stacey Sloan (City of Derry)
22. Zoe Templeton (Queen’s University)
23. Peita McAlister (Queen’s University)

Coaches - Philip Doyle and Jarrett Truscott
Team Manager - Kerry Spence
Resources Co-ordinator - Andy Weir
Physio - Andrew Creaney
Strength & Conditioning Coaches - Paul Heasley and Stewart Walker